Slough Feg – The Animal Spirits

October 18, 2010 § Leave a comment

Full-length, Profound Lore, 2010

Slough Feg is one of those very few bands whose entire discography I would recommend. I’ve been a huge fan of these guys since 2005’s Atavism, and I haven’t looked back since. Their 2007 opus Hardworlder was one of my favourite albums to come out that year, and it’s still ranked among my favourite albums of all time.  2009’s Ape Uprising saw the band take a more doom metal approach to their music, and even though a little different, it still had Slough Feg written all over it. All this to say, if you haven’t heard this band yet, you need to check out everything from their self-titled debut to this very album, in no particular order.

This album is definitely ressembles Hardworlder more than Ape Uprising, which isn’t necessarily a bad thing. Slough Feg keep on being the bringers of pure riffs, these very riffs that have been used countless times throughout heavy metal history, but somehow Slough Feg still manage to make everything work without sounding redundant, or even worse yet, unoriginal. Fans of Slough Feg will definitely find this album highly enjoyable (and some have already begun declaring this offering the album of the year) even though it isn’t groundbreaking per se.

However, to me, this album seems like it’s done its time after ten listens or so. I don’t know if it’s because it’s their eight full-length record or because after all these years, I have truly heard these kinds of riffs too many times. As I said earlier, Hardworlder was one of my favourite albums of 2007 and I have listened to it countless times. This album, on the other hand, doesn’t seem to me like it has that timeless quality to it. Yes, it has all the makings of a great Slough Feg album:  stellar production, very competent songwriting and the same old vocals we’ve come to expect. But there’s a little something that makes me a little uninterested after a handful of listens. Whatever it is, it’s still a great album, by a great band. Has it fully lived up to my expectations? No, but in my heart I don’t know if anything will ever truly surpass the greatness that was Hardworlder.

Still, this is a great album by a great band. It’s definitely nothing less than you would except from a Slough Feg album, even though like I previously stated, there’s a little something about it that doesn’t scream “album of the year” to me. However, as this breed of heavy metal is very hard to come by, especially in 2010, any fans of heavy metal owe it to themselves to check this album out. Oh, and the final track, Tactical Air War, features none other than Bob Wright from Brocas Helm, so…yeah.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Slough Feg – The Animal Spirits at Metal Reviews.

meta

